A Waste of Time   Leave a comment

Scotia Night Poetry

When I was a young boy asked to perform some chore
I would often reply, “in a minute”. I thought the use of
such a phrase might enable me to postpone the task.

It never did.

From as far back as I can remember my time-keeping
has been poor. I have been late for dates, interviews
hospital appointments and important meetings.

Time held no value.

Auden said, “Time will say nothing but I told you so”,
but time moved too fast for me to hear or perhaps I
chose not to listen.

I have wasted time.

Time has unexpectedly slowed in middle age. I appreciate
the minutes and the hours spent with loved ones and in
doing those things that I enjoy.

Time to relax.

Inevitably time will speed up once more but I don’t mind. It
feels like standing on loose sand and sinking – sometimes
slowly, often not…

View original post 25 more words

Posted January 22, 2012 by Namaste -- Seeking Peace in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

